What happens if the on-strike batsman drops his bat and catches the bowler’s delivery with the gloves?

and catches the ball like a wicketkeeper? Can it be lbw?

Related Items

12 Responses to “What happens if the on-strike batsman drops his bat and catches the bowler’s delivery with the gloves?”

  1. manoj g said:

    He will be given out.it’s similar situation when batsman stopped the ball with hand which is going to hit the stump.

  2. karthi5555 said:

    The on-field umpires can rule the batsman out because he is ‘Handling’ the ball. and i strongly believe, the bowler gets his wicket.

    Assume an other case, where it pops out of the batsman’s gloves (when he tries to catch it) and short leg or silly point takes a sharp catch .. then, it’s a legitimate dismissal 😀

  3. Naveen S said:

    If i am the Umpire i will kick his ass and will terminate from his playing cricket. Actually its out

  4. נuʟιaи said:

    He will be kicked out of the ground.

  5. M Danish T said:

    OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT, OUT,

  6. Alf B said:

    The umpire will raise his arm VERY slowly and point to the pavilion…and not crack a smile…they must lead very boring lives coz I’ve yet to see one crack a smile.

    So the answer is “Off you go,matey, go and sit in the plastic chair, on the balcony…coz you’re OUT”

  7. Paddy G said:

    He will be given out for handling the ball.

    This will happen irrespective weather it is hitting the stumps or not.

  8. Judy Michal said:

    He will be out whether the ball hitting the stumps or not, because he is stopping the ball.

    This is the same situation when inzamam was stopping the ball against india and he was given out. In this situation, he was out of the crease and raina trough the ball at the stumps, he stop the ball with the bat, because he was out of the crease and can be out that time, so umpire give him out.

    So in any case, in the above scenario batsman will be out.

  9. Kaylen Pillay said:

    It will be out on all accounts…it would be nice to see it happen…HA HA HA HA.

  10. maria said:

    OUT,

  11. catherine said:

    Out

  12. Naushad said:

    you must be a blady fool to ask this question




Message:

[newtagclound int=0]

Subscribe

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

Archives